SAGE Young Scholars Awards
Board of
Foundation for
SAGE Young Scholars Awards
Apply for the SAGE Award

Call for Nominations: 2017 SAGE Young Scholars

FPSP, in collaboration with SAGE Publications, is pleased to award the SAGE Young Scholars Awards. These awards recognize outstanding young researchers in personality and social psychology. The awardees will receive a one-time award of $5,000 to be used at their discretion for research, study, or conference travel-related purposes, as well as a complimentary one-year SPSP membership. At least five awards are presented each year to young scholars representative of the broad spectrum of personality and social psychology research areas.

2017 SAGE Young Scholars Award Winners:
  • Erika Carlson, University of Toronto
  • Mina Cikara, Harvard University
  • Jesse Graham, University of Southern California
  • Kurt Gray, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
  • Andrew Todd, University of Iowa
  • Liane Young, Boston College
  • Jamil Zaki, Stanford University

Eligibility and Selection Criteria
  • Candidates must be between 3 to 7 years into an academic faculty position (but not including post-doctoral training) by September of the year in which they apply. Previous winners may not be renominated.
  • Candidates should have demonstrated exceptional individual achievements in social and/or personality psychology (broadly defined), conducting research? that places them at the forefront of their peers. Criteria include ?innovation, creativity, and potential to make a significant impact on the field.
Application Requirements
  • Individuals may self-nominate or be nominated by others
  • Supply your First Name, Last Name, Institution, Email Address
  • A two page research statement describing the candidate's current and future research plans, highlighting the work's creativity and potential impact on the field.
  • A statement (up to 200 words) regarding how the Sage Young Scholar Award would encourage their development as a future leader of the field (optional).
  • The nominee’s current CV in electronic format (optional).

Selection Process

Award winners will be chosen by a subcommittee of the Board of the Foundation for Personality and Social Psychology, Inc.

Inquiries and Submission Information

You can apply online with the materials listed above. If you would like to nominate someone other than yourself for this award, please fill out a nomination form. Applications should be received no later than Friday, September 15, 2017. Contact Richard Petty at with any questions.
Past Winners

  • Wiebke Bleidorn
  • Jonathan Freeman
  • Ulrich Orth
  • Cheryl Wakslak
  • Adam Waytz

  • Clayton Critcher
  • Emily Impett
  • Nicholas Rule
  • Jenessa Shapiro
  • Jay Van Bavel

  • Paul Eastwick
  • Jochen Gebauer
  • Edward Lemay
  • Kristina Olson
  • Tessa West

  • Joan Chiao
  • Wilhelm Hoffman
  • Ethan Kross
  • Elizabeth Paluck
  • Greg Walton

  • Colin DeYoung
  • Naomi Eisenberger
  • Vladas Griskevicius
  • Mark J. Landau
  • Michael I. Norton

  • Emily Balcetis
  • C. Nathan DeWall
  • Kentaro Fujita
  • Omri Gillath
  • Jason P. Mitchell
  • Simine Vazire

  • Reginald Adams
  • William Cunningham
  • Sally Dickerson
  • Grainne Fitzsimmons
  • Aaron Kay

  • David Amodio
  • Wendy Berry Mendes
  • Cheryl Kaiser
  • Kurt Hugenberg
  • David Sherman
  • Alexander Todorov

  • Eli Finkel
  • Virginia Kwan
  • Jon Maner
  • B. Keith Payne
  • Kathleen Vohs